Your Committee Members

Andrew Simpson BSc MBCS MIPEM (email)
Andrew graduated with BSc (Hons) Computing and Networks in 2011 from Teesside University.. Andrew is currently working in The James Cook University Hospital’s Medical Physics Department as a Clinical Technologist in Computing (Computer Scientist), and studying a MSc (By Research) in Computer Science at the University of York’s Human-Computer-Interaction Lab (HCI@York).

His main interests are in Computer Science & Software Engineering, and the usability of Medical Software. Andrew is passionate about Computer Science & Health Informatics and has significant experience in Critical IT infrastructure and Software Engineering.

You can contact Andrew via LinkedIn at the following address:- or

Vice-Chair & Secretary
Charlotte Hughes MBCS CITP
Charlotte graduated with a BA (Hons) from the University of Teesside in 1997. She has over 12 years experience within I.T., both in an operational and support capacity with a focus upon ITIL Service Management, PRINCE2 Project Management and Procurement. Charlotte was awarded British Computer Society Chartered IT Professional (MBCS CITP) status in 2007 and contines with her professional development, with keen interest in education and technology. In latter years Charlotte has taken a career break to start and raise a family.
David Binns BSc MSc MBCS CITP (email)
David has over 22 years experience in IT working within Healthcare / Banking and for IT services companies. He studied at Teesside for his BSc Degree in Computer Science and then at Sunderland / Teesside attaining an MSc in Medical Informatics. His main interests are with Service and Project Management, Business Analysis, Systems Design and Development and database / Workflow systems. David is currently working as a Service and Project Management Consultant based in the North East of England.

Committee Member
James Hudson
Mature BSc Computing student at Teesside University building on a career in agricultural robotics.
Committee Member
Eric Wagott IEng MBCS
Committee Member
Gavin Fraser
Committee Member
Akram El Gabry (email)
Akram graduated in 1992 with a degree in Computer Science from the University of Teesside. He has worked for IBM since 1992 where he spent his first initial five years working in service management supporting central fulfilment in the area of Management Information and ran a small team providing fulfilment data to European HQ. He has spent the past ten years working for IBM Procurement where he has a global role focusing on Global Procurement processes and tools including qualifying as a SAP Application Consultant back in 2000. His latest focus area has been on eSourcing supporting IBM buyers in using the latest technology to help realise greater cost savings.
Committee Member
Ian Lockwood
Ian Graduated from University of Teesside with BSc(hons) Information Technology in 2002, holds qualifications in Prince 2, ITIL and TOGAF. He has over 30 years’ experience in health and social care both as a practitioner and in IT. He also served in the Army Reserves for 18 years working with data and voice communication networks. Since graduating Ian has held various roles within the NHS from programmer to CIO and holds extensive knowledge of NHS IT. Ian currently works as a freelance ICT Consultant. Linkedin

Committee Member
Alan Shaw
Alan is the Senior Lecturer in Engineering Modelling in the School of Science and Technology at Teesside University